IFIP TC 11 Working Group 12 - Human Aspects of Information Security and Assurance

IFIP TC 11 Working Group 12 - Human Aspects of Information Security and Assurance


Welcome to the website of IFIP TC 11 Working Group 12 - Human Aspects of Information Security and Assurance.

The aims and scope of the WG are described within the site. These values and goals are promoted within our Working Group Conferences in order to promote Human Aspects of Information Security and Assurance in a truly international context. Our Working Group includes welcome participation from industry and academia from all over the world.


Prof. Kerry-Lynn Thomson
Chairperson of IFIP WG11.12

IFIP TC 11 Working Group 12 - Human Aspects of Information Security and Assurance

The 18th International Symposium on HAISA, 9 - 11 July 2024, Skövde Sweden

Click here

Working Group Officers

Dr Kerry-Lynn Thomson

Prof Kerry-Lynn Thomson

Nelson Mandela University, South Africa
E-mail: kerry-lynn.thomson@mandela.ac.za

Dr Kerry-Lynn Thomson

Prof Adele Da Veiga

Co-Vice Chair
University of South Africa
E-mail: dveiga@unisa.ac.za

Dr Kerry-Lynn Thomson

Dr Paul Stephens

Co-Vice Chair
Canterbury Christ Church University
E-mail: paul.stephens@canterbury.ac.uk

Malcolm Pattinson

Dr Malcolm Pattinson

University of Adelaide, Australia
E-mail: malcolm.pattinson@adelaide.edu.au









Working Group Members

Australia Jeffrey Foster, Western Sydney University
Oliver Guidetti, Edith Cowan University
Paul Haskell-Dowland, Edith Cowan University
William Hutchinson, Edith Cowan University
Kaie Maennel, University of Adelaide
Kathryn Parsons, Defence Science and Technology Group
Malcolm Pattinson, University of Adelaide
Dong Seong Kim, University of Queensland
Austria Stefan Bauer, Institute for Information Management and Control
Ulrike Hugl, University of Innsbruck
Canada Bill Bonner, University of Regina
Cyprus Eliana Stavrou, Open University of Cyprus
Denmark Weizhi Meng, Technical University Denmark
Finland Bilal Naqvi, LUT University
France Célia Martinie, IRIT - Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier
Germany Steffen Bartsch, Technical University of Darmstadt
Luigi Lo Iacono, University of Europe for Applied Sciences
Maina M. Olembo, Technical University of Darmstadt
Sebastian Pape, Goethe University Frankfurt
Stephan Rothe, PwC Deutschland
Melanie Volkamer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Steffen Wendzel, Worms University of Applied Sciences
Greece Sokratis Katsikas, University of Piraeus
Costas Lambrinoudakis, University of Piraeus
Indonesia Puspita Kencana Sari, Telkom University
Luxembourg Gabriele Lenzini, University of Luxembourg
Moussa Ouedraogo, Fujitsu Luxembourg
Malaysia Hamed Taherdoost, Hamata Business Solutions
Netherlands Jurgen Jansen, NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences
Nigeria Adewole Adekola, University of Ibadan
Norway Sokratis Katsikas, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
Francois Mouton, PwC Norway
Johan van Niekerk, Noroff University College
Saudi Arabia Asfoor Ayman, Jubail Industrial College
Singapore Arif Perdana, Singapore Institute of Technology
Victor Pomponiu, Singapore University of Technology and Design
South Africa Adele Da Veiga, University of South Africa
Evangelos Frangopoulos, University of South Africa
Lynn Futcher, Nelson Mandela University
Noluxolo Gcaza, Nelson Mandela University
Elmarie Kritzinger, University of South Africa
Marianne Loock, University of South Africa
Khangwelo Muronga, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
Zainab Ruhwanya, University of Cape Town
Elmé Smith, University of South Africa
Kerry-Lynn Thomson, Nelson Mandela University
Maureen van den Bergh, University of Johannesburg
Rossouw von Solms, Nelson Mandela University
Spain José Luis Hernández Ramos, University of Murcia
Sweden Simone Fischer-Huebner, Karlstad University
Joakim Kävrestad, Jönköping School of Engineering
United Arab Emirates Lena Connolly, Zayed University
United Kingdom Andrew M'manga, Bournemouth University
Debi Ashenden, University of Portsmouth
Helen Petrie, University of York
John Blythe, CybSafe
Kate Buttriss, University of Portsmouth
Nathan Clarke, University of Plymouth
Lynne Coventry, Northumbria University
Rosanne English, University of Glasgow
Timibloudi Enamamu, Sheffield Hallam University
Mark Evans, De Montfort University
Steven Furnell, University of Nottingham
Ram Herkanaidu, University of Plymouth
Andrew Jones, University of Hertfordshire
Shujun Li, University of Kent
Jason Nurse, University of Kent
Jacques Ophoff, Abertay University
Panagiotis Andriotis, University of the West of England
Anastasis Petrou, UWTSD London
Karen Renaud, University of Glasgow
Ben Sanders, University of Winchester
Neetash Saxena, Cardiff University
Siamak Shahandashti, University of York
Nader Sohrabi Safa, University of Wolverhampton
Paul Stephens, Canterbury Christ Church University
Geordie Stewart, Risk Intelligence
Theo Tryfonas, University of Bristol
Emma Williams, University of Bristol
United States of America Sanchari Das, University of Denver
Dorothy Denning, Naval Postgraduate School
Ron Dodge, PayPal
Ervin Frenzel, Collin College
Wu He, Old Dominion University
Murray Jennex, San Diego State University
Tyler Moore, School of Cyber Studies, University of Tulsa
Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo, University of Texas at San Antonio
Mahak Sachdeva, Aprio
Terence Sadler, Regis University
Suzanna Schmeelk, St. John’s University
Angela Scipio, Post University
Lance Spitzner, SANS Technology Institute
Jeffrey Stanton, Syracuse University
James Voorhees, General Dynamics Information Technology
Merrill Warkentin, Mississippi State University
Robert Yanus, Pace University



The Human Aspects of Information Security and Assurance Working Group seeks to promote all aspects of research that can better support and inform our use of security within information systems.


The scope of the WG11.12 includes any aspects that pertain to the attitudes, perceptions and behaviour of people, and how human characteristics or technologies may be positively modified to improve the ease of use and level of protection provided. Indicative themes within this remit will include:


Join us

IFIP WG 11.12 Membership

Membership is free and entitles you to be notified of any Call for Papers and Events.

To join the WG - please submit an application form:

Contact us?

Prof Kerry-Lynn Thomson
Nelson Mandela University
Port Elizabeth
South Africa

E-mail: kerry-lynn.thomson@mandela.ac.za